Published: Wed, November 07, 2018
Sport | By Joe Gonzales

Looking through the 2018 Gold Glove winners

Looking through the 2018 Gold Glove winners

He is only the third first baseman in franchise history to earn the award, joining four-time victor Mark Grace and Derek Lee, who won twice.

Astros players Alex Bregman and Martin Maldonado were also finalists for Gold Glove Awards.

Mookie Betts, Jackie Bradley Jr. and Ian Kinsler won Gold Gloves for the World Series champion Boston Red Sox.

"Now in our 61st year of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award, this year's honorees are well deserved and truly define defensive excellence", said Mike Thompson, chief marketing officer for Rawlings Sporting Goods.

Norway summons Saudi envoy over Khashoggi murder
Khashoggi was tortured and decapitated inside the Saudi Arabian consulate in Istanbul, the reports said, citing Turkish sources. Finally, on October 25, Saudi Arabia said the murder was "premeditated" based on information supplied by Turkey.

That elite defense was rewarded on Sunday as the Gold Glove Award winners were announced and Red Sox players took home a lot of that hardware. While he was not named the best left fielder in the American League, Benintendi was real close and has a great chance to win in the coming years.

Arenado is the seventh third baseman in Major League Baseball history to win at least six Gold Gloves, the third NL third baseman to accomplish the feat (Scott Rolen, Mike Schmidt).

Oakland and Colorado each had two Gold Glove winners in the infield. Baez, who started at second (75 games), shortstop (52) and third (18), claimed his third consecutive multi-position Fielding Bible Award. First baseman Matt Olson and third baseman Matt Chapman were recognized for the Athletics, and second baseman D.J. LeMahieu and third baseman Nolan Arenao won for the Rockies. It's Rizzo's second award and Freeman's first. Heyward didn't win a gold glove as Nick Markakis won instead.

Like this: