Published: Tue, September 25, 2018
Sport | By Joe Gonzales

FIFA Best Player: Hazard reveals who he voted for

FIFA Best Player: Hazard reveals who he voted for

Lionel Messi was a notable absentee from the final three-man shortlist and neither he nor Ronaldo were present at the ceremony in London.

FIFA's Puskás Award - named after the celebrated Hungarian former Real Madrid player - is awarded to the goal of the year, determined entirely by fan voting.

Modric can add the prize to the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award he won earlier this year after beating off competition from Ronaldo and Salah.

Brazil's Marta collected her sixth women's player of the year award, but her first since 2010 after finishing as runner-up on three occasions during the intervening years, while former Chelsea keeper Thibaut Courtois was named goalkeeper of the year.

The other players nominated for the award were Denis Cheryshev, Lazaros Christodoulopoulos, Riley McGree, Giorgian de Arrascaeta, Lionel Messi, Ricardo Quaresma and Benjamin Pavard.

"When I accepted the job, I wanted to first just enjoy everything in football and then to promote women's football", said Pedros, who took over at the start of last season.

Modric enjoyed arguably the best year of his career as he won a third consecutive Champions League trophy - before reaching the World Cup final with Croatia.

Silva: I knew second season at City would be easier
There could have been many more goals, but while they opened up Fulham with some ease, City were unable to fully punish them. City had 28 attempts on goal but only converted a small portion.

Salah earned the award - amid widespread disbelief - for his goal against Everton in December 2017.

Modric, was an integral part of Madrid's Champions League winning team, before leading his national side to runners-up position at the 2018 World Cup.

"Maybe they've won too much and have [too great] a dislike of losing". Peru supporters scooped the third Fan Award, thanks to the South American country's dedicated and fanatical following at the World Cup.

She later went on to represent him and was instrumental in his mega-money move to Real Madrid in 2012.

Real Madrid's Belgium worldwide Thibaut Courtois won the Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

The players had their say, and so did the fans, who voted for the Puskás and FIFA Fan Awards, with Mo Salah the ultimate victor of the Puskás Award thanks to his outstanding goal against Everton.

Like this: